Skip to content

Death of Earl Scruggs

March 31, 2012

“Ever since you went away, I die a little more each day, for I’m crying my heart out over you.”–from the Flatt and Scruggs song of the same name.

Just found this news out after I got back from the Gungor concert. Flatt and Scruggs were the third part of the Big Three of Bluegrass, along with Bill Monroe and the Bluegrass Boys and The Stanley Brothers. While Flatt and Scruggs weren’t as much a part of the soundtrack to my childhood as the other two groups, I still get reminiscent when I hear “Foggy Mountain Breakdown” or “Martha White.” As a child, I knew the names Flatt and Scruggs before I really even knew who they were, much like some of the other names I remember from my childhood–Charles Spurgeon, Stonewall Jackson, R.J.Rushdoony, Gary North. (Oh yes, you’re reading a post by a redneck Reconstructionist! Hold on to your hat!) Earl Scruggs was a groundbreaking banjo player whose innovations for the banjo should make him a legend. We miss him very much.

In other news, I saw Gungor, which was great. The new issue of First Things hit the Wheaton library recently, making me feel like a kid in a candy store, albeit a very nerdy kid in a very intellectual candy store. I have developed a love/hate relationship with the band Say Anything–good old angsty Jewish intellectual punk-rock, maybe a secularized mewithoutYou recast as a pop/punk outfit. Spotify kills artist’s careers–don’t use it. The post on sloth is coming, I promise, along with maybe some others on conservatism and marginalization. Don’t let people fit you into their categories, but don’t fit them into categories either; there are no categories, just long stories.

God bless us, everyone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 5:54 pm

    Good stuff. I wasn’t really raised on bluegrass, more country, but he was definitely one of the names I knew, and one of the few whose songs I’d heard. Especially after I started getting to know you and Shelby.

    Looking forward to the other posts.

  2. punicwars55 permalink
    March 31, 2012 9:54 pm

    A world without Earl Scruggs, Bill Monroe, Lester Flatt, and Jimmie Martin (who you did not mention) and a world without Johnny Cash or any of the Agrarians is hardly worth living in. Who is goin’ to fill his shoes? Who is goin’ to make the banjo do things like he made it do?

    Keep the Faith.

Leave a Reply

